Since the spring of 2020 it has not been possible as a result of Covid-19 restrictions to hold the traditional unveiling of plaques at winning stations and structures in the National Railway Heritage Awards.
However, as an indication that circumstances are gradually improving, it was possible to unveil officially – whilst maintaining the appropriate social distancing – on 29 April 2021 the plaques awarded at the NRHA’s virtual ceremony held in December 2020 for work undertaken at Berwick and Morpeth stations.
Berwick station has, over the past few years, been the focus a number of entries that have resulted in a significant improvement to this important East Coast main line station. The resulting entry, made in 2020 by Network Rail and LNER, was the recipient of the Arch Company Urban Heritage Award, an award which recognises the success of a train operator, station owner or other partnership in enhancing the environment of a significant urban station.
Morpeth station, which was entered by the Greater Morpeth Development Trust, Northern and Network Rail, triumphed in the Railway Heritage Trust Conservation Award. The external work included the restoration of the once removed chimney stacks as well major work to the roof and stonework as well as to the doors and windows.

Theo Steel

NRHA chairman Theo Steel is seen with the newly unveiled plaque at Berwick station on 29 April 2021.

Berwick station

The work completed at Berwick station was extensive and included both the interior of the booking hall – as illustrated here – that revealed many original features that had been lost in earlier upgrades, the exterior (with work on the roof) and environs. The work, over the past few years, made the station a worthy recipient of the Arch Company Urban Heritage Award in the 2020 National Railway Heritage Awards.

Theo Steel.

The newly unveiled plaque at Morpeth with Theo Steel.


The exterior of the restored main station building at Morpeth, the winning entry in the Railway Heritage Trust Conservation Award at the 2020 National Railway Heritage Awards, which were announced in a virtual ceremony on Wednesday 2 December 2020.