” A competition to recognise, acknowledge and reward, for the public benefit, the very best in re-use, restoration and conservation of our historic railway infrastructure. “

We are the only Awards body dedicated to encouraging and rewarding best practice in the re-use, restoration and continued upkeep of our rich heritage of railway and tramway buildings and structures.

The Awards began in 1979 and was initially focused on the heritage railway preservation movement. Since Privatisation in the 1990’s, the Awards have broadened to encompass the infrastructure of the national rail network and entries from the national sector now form a substantial part.

The Awards are a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO): as an independent Trust our charitable status was originally confirmed by the Charity Commission in December 2006.

The Awards would not be possible without the generous support of our Sponsors.
For more information about the Sponsors, please click on “The Awards” section and the Sponsors’ link at the top of this page.

Supported by the Railway Industry

Railway Heritage Trust
Heritage Railway Association
Heritage Railway Association
Heritage Railway Association
The Arch Co

The Hendy & Pendle
Charitable Trust

Chris Smyth

We are saddened to report the death of Chris Smyth on 15 March 2024.

Okehampton plaque unveiled

On 28 March 2024, despite the intervention of the British climate, the National Railway Heritage Awards Plaque at Okehampton was officially unveiled.
The plaque unveiled was the 2023 Avanti West Coast Community Award which had been made to Network Rail, Great Western Railway, Dartmoor Railway Association and the Devon & Cornwall Rail Partnership. The award had originally been announced at the annual award ceremony held in London in early December 2023.

Peckham Rye plaque unveiled

The event was held on 9 February 2024 to unveil the plaque for the 2023 Arch Co Award for Urban Heritage, which had announced at a ceremony held at Merchant Taylors’ Hall in London in early December 2023.
The recipients were Benedict O’Looney Architects, Network Rail and the Railway Heritage Trust for the excellent work in refurbishing the façades and roof of Peckham Rye station.
The award plaque was unveiled together with a blue plaque from the Railway Heritage Trust recognising the support given to the project.

2024 Awards Timetable

Entries: closing date Friday 31st May 2024

Judging: June – August

Adjudication: September

Shortlisted Entries notification: October

Award Invitations dispatched: November

Awards ceremony: Wednesday 4th December 2024