Sir Peter Hendy

The Commissioner, Transport for London, Sir Peter Hendy CBE, presented the 2014 National Railway Heritage Awards at a ceremony held at Merchant Taylors’ Hall in London on Wednesday 4 December.

He began by presenting the Network Rail Partnership Award to Scotrail and Pitlochry in Bloom for the superb restoration of Pitlochry station.

This was followed by a new award for 2014, the Urban Heritage Award sponsored by Crossrail, which was made to the Nottingham Hub Project partners of Network Rail, Nottingham City Council and East Midlands Trains for the thorough restoration of the porte cochère and other work at Nottingham.

The FirstGroup Craft Skills Award, recognising the best use of traditional craft skills in the restoration of a building or structure, was awarded to Nigel Teulon for the relocation of the former signalbox at Snettisham in Norfolk to Hardingham and for its restoration.

This year’s Restoration Award was made to Lancashire County Council for its restoration of Crook O’Lune East Viaduct, which forms part of the footpath using the now closed line from Lancaster to Wennington.

The London Underground Operational Enhancement Award went to Carillion Rail and Network Rail for work undertaken at Ballochmyle Viaduct, near Mauchline in Ayrshire, to strengthen the original 1848 structure.

The Supporters Award supported by J & JW Longbottom was given to the North Yorkshire Moors Railway for the construction of a replica lamp room at Levisham station.

The Railway Heritage Trust Conservation Award for the best restored structure supported by funding from the Trust was won by the Settle & Carlisle Railway Trust for its conversion of the former stationmaster’s house at Ribblehead into holiday accommodation.

The Volunteers Award was made to the Welsh Highland Railway Heritage Group–Grwp Treftadaeth Rheillfordd Ucheldir Cymru for its extensive reconstruction of the original station at Tryfan Junction.

The Signalling Award supported by the Heritage Railway Association was made to the Ffestiniog Railway Society for the hugely impressive signalling work undertaken in connection with the enlarged Harbour station at Porthmadog.

The final award — for the best overall entry in this year’s competition — went to Network Rail for the dramatic changes wrought at Edinburgh Waverley station through the complete refurbishment of the trainshed roof.