Waterman OBE addresses the audience at the award ceremony for the 2010 National Railway Heritage Awards on 1 December 2010

Pete Waterman presented the 2010 National Railway Heritage Awards at a ceremony held at Merchant Taylors’ Hall in London today.

He began by presenting the Ian Allan Publishing Heritage Railway of the Year Award to theHelston Railway Preservation Society Ltd in recognition of the society’s success in restoring part of the long- closed Helston branch in Cornwall.

This year’s Modern Railways Restoration Award for the most meritorious entry in the commercial sector went to Pivovar Tap Ltd for their project to convert the former Edwardian refreshment room at Sheffield Midland station into an attractive Public House.

The Invensys Signalling Award for the best restored signal box or signalling installation was won jointly by St Albans Signal Box Preservation Trust in the Structures section for their restoration of St Albans South signal box and by the Lynton & Barnstaple Railway Company in the Signalling section for the preserved line’s ground frame and signalling installed at Woody Bay.

The London Underground Accessibility Award went to the Settle-Carlisle Railway Development Company for the work undertaken at Settle station for the refurbishment and improved facilities, including the provision of a toilet for the disabled.

The Railway Heritage Trust Conservation Award for the best restored listed structure to which the Trust had contributed was won by Brading Town Council for its work on the station building at Brading on the Isle of Wight.

The FirstGroup Craft Skills Award, recognising the best use of traditional craft skills in the restoration of a building or structure, was awarded to the Severn Valley Railway (Holdings) Ltd for the work undertaken for the railway’s installation of the wheel drop at Bridgnorth Locomotive Works.

The National Railway Heritage Awards Volunteers Award was made to the Peak Rail Turntable Restoration Group for their work in excavating an existing turntable pit at Rowsley South Engine shed and for the installation of a working turntable at the site.

The Network Rail Partnership Award was made to de Etchingham Community Interest Company for the creation of the Bistro at Etchingham station.

The Association of Train Operating Companies’ Station Environment Award was won by First Great Western in recognition of the operator’s work in improving and maintaining its large portfolio of stations.

The Transport for London Award was won by Transport for London (London Rail) for the work completed at Rotherhithe, Shadwell, Surrey Quays and Wapping as part of the scheme for integrating the East London line into the Overground network.

The Ian Allan Publishing Award, given to the best overall entry in this year’s competition, went to Places for People for the multi-million Pound scheme to restore and reuse as residential property the Triangle Building at WolvertonWorks.

John Ellis, the Awards Chairman – emphasised the deep appreciation the Committee have for our sponsors – the more so in these straitened times – for their support without which the Awards would not take place. We look forward to their continued support for the Awards year in 2011.