Andrew Haines, the Chief Executive of Network Rail
Andrew Haines, the Chief Executive of Network Rail, was guest of honour at the 2020 National Railway Heritage Awards as the winners in this year’s competition were announced in a virtual ceremony, reflecting the fact that restrictions on the holding of public gatherings as a result of the ongoing COVID-19 crisis meant that the usual annual ceremony held at Merchant Taylors’ Hall had had to be cancelled.
Virtual Awards Ceremony 2020

The BAM Nuttall Partnership Award was made to Greater Anglia Railways for the restoration of the modernised but Grade II listed station at Harlow Town.

The NRHA Craft Skills Award, recognising the best use of traditional craft skills in the restoration of a building or structure, was awarded to Colt Construction Ltd for the restoration of the Midland Railway signalbox at Appleby on the Settle to Carlisle line.

The Urban Heritage Award, sponsored by the Arch Company, was made to Network Rail and LNER for the impressive work completed at Berwick-on-Tweed station over a number of years, work that recognised not only the importance of the station itself but also the sensitivity of the historic site on which it stands.

This year’s Costain Structures Award for the best restored structure, such as a viaduct or tunnel, was made to Network Rail work undertaken in refurbishing the 19th century railway bridges in Manchester, work which had considerably improved the streetscape.

The London Underground Operational Enhancement Award went to the Network Rail and Story Construction Ltd for the complex work undertaken at Stirling station in Scotland in restoring the platform canopies and footbridge whilst incorporating successfully the overhead line equipment associated with the 25kV electrification of the line through to Alloa.

The Railway Heritage Trust Conservation Award for the best restored structure supported by funding from the Trust was won by the Greater Morpeth Development Trust, Northern and Network Rail for the restoration of the main station building at Morpeth, on the East Coast main line.

The Hendy & Pendle Trust Volunteers Award was made to the Ffestiniog Railway for the restoration of the workshops at Minffordd, a project that owed much to the direction of this scheme of a long standing FR stalwart – Eileen Clayton MBE – who sadly died before the work was completed having maintained her enthusiasm for and involvement in the railway whilst battling Multiple Sclerosis.

The Network Rail Community Award, a new award for this year, was made to Network Rail for the restoration of the historic station building at Goostrey on the Crewe To Manchester line – work that was undertaken following a campaign by the Friends of Goostrey station and the local community.

The Southeastern Commercial Restoration Award was made to Loftco for the restoration of the near derelict – but historically important – Brunellian station building at Cardiff Bay.

The interesting project undertaken by Irish Rail to provide a new overall roof at Dublin Pearse was recognised by giving it a Chairman’s Special Award

The NRHA award for the best overall entry in this year’s competition went to University of Northampton for the stunning conversion of the former Midland Railway engine shed at Northampton into accommodation for the students’ union. The transformation from roofless – but listed – ruin to the restored and useful structure was dramatic.