The Awards and Sponsors

The MTR Crossrail Award for Urban Heritage

This award recognises the success of a train operator, station owner or other partnership in ensuring consistently high quality upkeep and enhancement of the environment of a significant urban station within its care, so as to perpetuate the historic ambience consistent with modern passenger requirements.

The Great Western Railway Craft Skills Award

For craftsmanship skills in the use of materials and/or modern technology in the repair or conservation of an historic railway or tramway building or structure in any ownership.

The London Underground Operational Enhancement Award

For restoration, refurbishment or other improvements to an historic station or other building or structure which incorporate operational modifications, including improvements in accessibility for mobility or other impaired customers, which respect and enhance its heritage character.

The Contractors Restoration Award

For the successful restoration, modification or adaptation for new use of any historic railway or tramway civil engineering structure (this would include bridges, viaducts, tunnel portals and permanent way works, but not buildings) in any ownership.

The Railway Heritage Trust Conservation Award

For restoration and conservation of a listed or conservation area railway or tramway building or structure in any ownership, with regard to evidence of an appropriate on-going maintenance regime. Open to any entry, with the support of RHT grants.

The Stagecoach Volunteers Award

For projects with significant volunteer input, for an historic railway or tramway building or structure in any ownership. A cash prize is awarded to the winner of this award.

The Taylor Woodrow Partnership Award

For improvements to or restoration of an historic railway or tramway building or structure in any ownership, in a jointly funded project. Open to any entry.

The Siemens Signalling Award

For the best restored signal box or signalling installation on any system, in any ownership.

The Supporters Award

supported by The Heritage Railway Association, J&J W Longbottom & Railway Property Regeneration For the best small project entered in the competition. This may comprise an artefact such as a station clock or a small building.

The NRHA Best Entry Award

For the best overall entry for this year’s competition, not necessarily the winner of another award:

Open to any entry for this year’s competition.


We are very grateful to our Sponsors for their valued support of the Awards scheme.
Without their support, the National Heritage Awards could not operate.